Apr 162012
0 Flares Twitter 0 Pin It Share 0 Facebook 0 StumbleUpon 0 0 Flares ×

Growing up, I wasn’t what you would call a country music “fan”.  I made all the standard jokes (country music is an oxymoron, ha ha.  Wasn’t I witty?) and teased my friends who listened to the genre.  I was one of the few odd (wo)men out, as almost everyone I knew enjoyed at least a few country music artists.

It turned out that for me, country music was a lot like asparagus: give it a try, and you’ll find that you like it.  Once I actually listened to a wider sampling with an open mind I found that I liked country music very much.  Today, if you get in the car with me, you’ll find it’s always tuned in to a country station.

Rascal Flatts

Rascal Flatts' New Album "Changed"

Rascal Flatts is one group that once I started listening to country, I liked right away.  They have a lot of great songs that I love, and I love the diversity in their music.  Some are fun, upbeat tunes (like “Life Is a Highway”), others are more personal and introspective (like “Stand”).  My husband loves them, too (a Rascal Flatts concert was our first concert together), and Bubbles is already getting in on the action, dancing along when we have them playing or “singing” along in the car.

So I was really excited to learn they had a new release entitled “Changed”.  The album hit the street on April 3rd, and if you haven’t already snapped it up, you definitely should.  Band member Jay DeMarcus (bassist and vocals) had the following to say about the title of their eight studio release: “Given what we’ve been through in the past two years, I don’t think there could be any better title.  This feels like the next step in Rascal Flatts’ evolution.”   Jay is referring to the establishment of their own label, Big Machine Records, along with some other management changes.  “Change isn’t always easy to go through,” says Joe Don Rooney (guitarist and vocals), “and some of this was hard for us.  But fortunately there’s another side to change.  We’re all family men now, husbands and fathers, and there is so much stability to draw on there.  Put it all together, and it’s life-changing stuff that can be scary, but beautiful at the same time.”

Rascal Flatts

The Guys of Rascal Flatts: Joe Don, Jay & Gary

There are 11 tracks, one of which you may already be familiar with if you enjoy country music.  The song “Banjo” was released from this album as a single for airplay back in January.  If you haven’t heard it yet, and would like to get a little feel for Rascal Flatts’ style and what the Changed album is about, you can view the “Banjo” video here.

The full list of tracks on this album include:

  1. Changed
  2. Banjo
  3. Hot In Here
  4. Come Wake Me Up
  5. She’s Leaving
  6. Let It Hurt
  7. Lovin’ Me
  8. Hurry Baby
  9. Sunrise
  10. Great Big Love
  11. A Little Home

I enjoyed the “A Little Home” song, as it really reminded of A1 off at college (I remember being in those shoes, myself, when I was in college).  The first verse lyrics go:

5th floor, she’s up in her dorm
Studying for her mid term
She’s had, one of those weeks
Where the world it seems is against her
Right on cue, a picture pop up, on her laptop
She can’t pick her cell phone up fast enough

The song “Let It Hurt” is likely to be a big hit; maybe it will even join their other 13 singles to reach #1 .  That’s coming from my husband, who has a knack for calling which songs on an album are going to be a hit, and which ones are not.  His track record is quite impressive, actually, so I hope I’m not throwing him bad luck by posting one of his predictions!

The other exciting news from Rascal Flatts is their new Changed tour!  And they’re coming here to Louisville in August!  I really hope we’re able to get tickets and go.  If you’d like to see if and when they’re coming to a city near you, you can view the tour schedule here.

You could also win tickets and a trip to see the guys in concert!  And really, aren’t free concert tickets (and free trips) the best kind?  For your chance to win the package – which includes airfare, hotel, tickets and a meet & greet – just enter below.  The giveaway ends on April 30th, so enter soon!


I received a copy of “Changed” through the One2OneNetwork in order to facilitate my review.  No additional compensation was received; all opinions are 100% that of my family and myself.

0 Flares Twitter 0 Pin It Share 0 Facebook 0 StumbleUpon 0 0 Flares ×

About Liza

Liza is a mom (5-year-old daughter, 20-year-old stepson, and 24-year-old stepdaughter) and wife living in Louisville. She loves spending time with her family, visiting the local zoo and parks, as well as planning travel adventures. Cooking and baking, DIY projects and crafts, and coffee - lots and lots of coffee - round out some of her other hobbies.

 Leave a Reply



You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>