Oct 052011
0 Flares Twitter 0 Pin It Share 0 Facebook 0 StumbleUpon 0 0 Flares ×

We’re getting a late blast of summer weather here (last week it was in the 40s and 50s; this week we’re supposed to have several days in the 80s) and we’ve been trying to enjoy it.  Today I took care of a handful of errands and then we took a nice walk.  By the time we were home and settled in for the night I wasn’t in the mood to get involved in a big, heavy meal (I had been planning chicken and dumplings).  No one could come up with a suggestion so I decided to fall back on a simple, quick and easy meal: individual homemade pizzas.  An added bonus is that because they’re individually-sized, everyone gets to customize their own to their own tastes.

I started with some dough that I had left from a batch of bread.  After I let it proof a little, I dusted my counter-top with cornmeal, rolled out the individual crusts and pre-baked them in a 475 degree oven for 4 minutes each on a pizza stone (if you don’t have a pizza peel, consider investing in one like this one; it makes it much easier to slide in and out of the oven).

From there we loaded them up with sauce, shredded mozzarella and Parmesan cheeses and toppings (pepperoni, mushrooms, and some fresh oregano and basil for me; pepperoni and bacon for the hubs).  Turn the temperature down to 450 and put them back in the oven for  7-8 minutes each, or until the cheese is melted and bubbly.

Sorry that there is no “baked” picture to share with you; the batteries in my digital camera died and my stomach said that waiting for them to recharge wasn’t an option.

Again, a very simple meal, but great for those nights that you just don’t have the time or energy (or desire) to get to fancy or creative.  Plus it’s very healthy!
Do you have a recipe or cooking-related post you’d like to share?  Please link them up below!

0 Flares Twitter 0 Pin It Share 0 Facebook 0 StumbleUpon 0 0 Flares ×

About Liza

Liza is a mom (5-year-old daughter, 20-year-old stepson, and 24-year-old stepdaughter) and wife living in Louisville. She loves spending time with her family, visiting the local zoo and parks, as well as planning travel adventures. Cooking and baking, DIY projects and crafts, and coffee - lots and lots of coffee - round out some of her other hobbies.

 Leave a Reply



You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>